The New Pornographers Brill Bruisers album cover

The New Pornographers return with another lavish triumph, “Brill Bruisers”

Everyone from Canadian independent music ever is back after a four year break.

- Jun 10, 2014

The New Pornographers are releasing an album called Brill Bruisers, the supergroup's first since 2010's Together, on August 26. A.C. Newman, Dan Bejar, Neko Case, Kathryn Calder, John Collins, Todd Fancey, Blaine Thurier, and Kurt Dahle are all back together, in a house, talkin' about Canadian indie rock institutions.

"Brill Bruisers" the song is available below, via a widget that takes longer to load than your attention span might allow for. But it's worth it. Exploding out from a shimmering nucleus of magical mystery gibberish, "Bruisers" has that sprawling, blinkered ecstasy of a rock opera. It's lavish triumph as espoused by layers of politely Formula One guitars — both acoustic and electric — and a sermon from Newman, feet planted resolutely and arms open wide.

The New Pornographers' new album Brill Bruisers is out in Canada on August 26 via Last Gang/Matador; pre-order it here.

Discuss this on Facebook and Twitter

Share on Tumblr

Related Posts